our gifts are a liability.

… if they are not used to serve the one that gave them to us.

think about that. if you are not using the gifts that the creator instilled in you, yes, you specifically… then they become a liability. i dont know about you, but the thought of being a liability is not something that excites me. what does excite me, however, is using the gifts he has bestowed upon me … for an eternal purpose. that sounds a little churchy, right? but seriously… if you are going to use the gifts and talents afforded you, wouldn’t it be nice to know that your work has value that never ends?!

if one child learns a new thing about christ because of the way i’ve shared it (writing, video, design, brainstorming, event planning, discipleship, one-on-one contact, the list goes on)… then what greater joy can there be? how many people get to do things that they know have no end? well…. we all have the capacity for that. the real question is, will you choose to have eternal impact. will you choose to spread the word of God and the freedom found in his love and mercy… or will you not? and when you do… will you give him the credit? or will you take it on yourself.

this theme has permeated my bible study for the past few days, so i knew i had to share it with you. its way tooooo big to miss. consider this:

1 Corinthians 4:7 (The Message)

7-8For who do you know that really knows you, knows your heart? And even if they did, is there anything they would discover in you that you could take credit for? Isn’t everything you have and everything you are sheer gifts from God? So what’s the point of all this comparing and competing? You already have all you need. You already have more access to God than you can handle. Without bringing either Apollos or me into it, you’re sitting on top of the world—at least God’s world—and we’re right there, sitting alongside you!

you know what i love about creativity? you can’t even pretend it came from your human mind. i suppose you can pretend… but it wont be true. it will never be true that orginal thoughts and ideas did not come from the author of creation. you know? be careful not to boast in the gifts and talents that have been given you. this is a lofty calling and worthy responsibility. what are you going to do today to impact eternity?

the cast of big picture

the cast of the big picture at prestonwood

in this episode of the big picture the kids start to learn about what it means to witness something… then they go into a classroom where a teacher explains further what it means to be a witness. a witness to the things God has done. thank you teachers, for having an eternal impact.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “our gifts are a liability.

  1. Michelle Scheef says:

    Thanks for sharing your heART with us!!! Love ya my hippy friend!

  2. missionsix says:

    As a member of band, I know what it’s like having a little bit of success. We all use our gifts or talents to obtain success. The dictionary describes success as the attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like. When you are tiny bit successful it is easy to become very prideful, this is because success from the world’s stand point is extreme well, or high honors. As sinners these are all very appealing, and yes, while they maybe appealing there they’re not the most important thing. If you really think about it, any success we will ever achieve in our lifetime will be because of Christ. He is the reason we have or gifts, so He is the reason we are successful. I really think Robyn is on the right track with this. I really enjoyed it!
    -Michael Powers
    Mission Six

  3. Laura Gosser says:

    Robyn, I want tell you how much you have impacted my life over the course of the Big Picture and now
    I am reading your blogs. Your Big Picture writings are so great and one that sticks in my mind was the one you wrote called the “The King and I”. Also I have been reading your blogs and they are so awesome. I love the one called “They call her Love, Love, Love” Oh Boy… that one hit home. The Treehouse, Liablility and the Dance like Somebody is watching… All greatly touched my heart. I scrolled down and noticed a lot I have not read yet. I had no idea you wrote all these great things. You have a heart for the Lord and you are so creative. I love your heart and
    I am looking forward to some more of your blogs. Wow! God has really given you a talent and you are truely using your talent to help others, cause I have to say… you have helped me. Every blog I have read has made me think and want to change and be more like HIM.
    I am looking forward to following all your blogs and sharing them with people I love. Thank you Robyn!

Leave a Reply

