if someone changed your life… what would you do to let them know?

 

ah. i love these guys. anyone that has ever heard my story will know that dr. jones played an integral part in my personal as well as my academic life, i often tell him he saved my life.

dr. clemmensen taught me in my college years but has become a treasured friend as i have become an adult.

both have taught me the skills i use everyday. they built a program that would equip me for every single thing i do creatively… they stretched themselves to meet the needs of the students in their care to an unbelieveable extent. they shared the love of story and taught me how to tell one… now, when i have an opportunity to get back together with them, they will never know how much it means that they always fit me in their schedule. we typically have dinner together and spend time talking and sharing about life. it is such a blessing and a privilege to call them my friends.

i hope that if you have someone that has meant so much to you, that you will go visit them. i hope you will invest the time in letting them know how treasured they are. i hope you get to eat with them. i hope you get to hang out with them. i hope you get to see one of them be giddy about a new found love, i hope you get to hear about medical scares and family dynamics. i hope your mentors will let you see their humanity, as mine have.

 

and i also hope… that when you are  a mentor to someone, you will eat with them, show them your humanity, hang out with them, invest the time.

with that… i’m off to head to birmingham, the magic city, for a journalism advisory board meeting… a wall of fame presentation for my dear friend George Smith… and dinner with Drs J and C!!

 

One thought on “if someone changed your life… what would you do to let them know?

  1. Michelle Scheef says:

    I love this Robyn!

Leave a Reply

