thanking God for pain and David Edmonson

Imagemy great friend david edmonson took this photo a few years ago. i had designed the shirts and needed some shots… then we got this one at the end. 

my friend is a warrior of faith. he has been a mentor and friend for about 10 years now. today he imparted some of the best wisdom he has ever shared with me… and over the years he has shared alot.

he taught me that a smile is found in the eyes.

he taught me to under promise and over deliver.

he taught me to be generous with my gifts and talents, by his neverending example of the same. 

he taught me to show Jesus in my art. 

he has taught me so much more… but today, takes the cake.

today he told me that when things are hard, God is teaching me, wanting me to become more Christlike. He reminded me to be grateful when there are trials because they allow me to learn and become more godly. He told me that you don’t want to have to repeat the lesson, you have to learn it. He told me to be grateful for the lessons. He reminded me what love is. He told me that Paul wrote most of his letters from prison… not the mountaintop. 

I hope this encourages you, whatever pain you might be walking through, as it encourages me.

this year, my friend has experienced extreme pain and loss. He endured a life-threatening stroke. He has been forced to slow down, relearn the use of certain muscles. This year, he lost his oldest daughter. This year, he has continued to teach photographers all over the world. he has continued to win photography award after award. This year he walked his talk.

When I grow up, I want to be more like David Edmonson… and more like Christ. He taught me that. And I’m forever grateful.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “thanking God for pain and David Edmonson

  1. Lori Murphy says:

    That is awesome, Robin. So inspiring and uplifting. God truly is the only one to turn to in times of pain and hardship. Does he have any stroke support? I had a stroke 7 years ago June 21st and I know how important it is to have support. I started a stroke support group for young stroke survivors here in Atlanta. I know how hard it is. I know what it is like to live a life of pain…literally. If he ever wants someone to talk to or someone to listen, I’d be more than happy to be that person. Just put me in touch with him. Thanks, Robin. -lori

  2. I love this Robyn. What a nice tribute to David. You are one who is continually teaching and inspiring others also. Love you!

    Michelle

  3. slmayo says:

    Beautiful!!! I want that Sax lunch soon!

  4. Kathleen says:

    Okay, how come I am just reading this now? What an amazing article Robyn… How can I be more like him? Going through some tough times myself, but still here. Pushing through the pain. Now, if I could only have a smidgen of your writing ability and David Edmonson’s photography ability, I’d be set. Much love sent your way.

  5. Chris Moore says:

    Great read! Thanks for writing this. It couldn’t have come at a better time!

Leave a Reply

