i don’t even know how.

vbs logo

vbs logo

BEWARE: ABOUT TO TYPE THE MOST BORING SENTENCE EVER…

i don’t even know how to start talking about VBS.

I used to think VBS was the same old same old, and everyone did something they had done a million times. noah. creation.moses.joseph.

then… i started working at Long Hollow.

I would actually be planning our own VBS for kids.

WOW. Mind blowing. Determined to make sure everything taught is worthy of their time, and ours… I think about this time of year, all year. I pray, read, listen, draw, write… and most importantly collaborate with people that I treasure and adore (jason underhill, emmy hendrick and sharon fleming).

This week, I told the kids that I’ve been thinking about them and praying for them for months. It’s true. True story.

We have been looking for the best ways to help them understand how great God’s love for them is… and that if they know Him, it’s their job to tell others. This is Biblical.

I can’t begin to share all of the amazing things God has allowed me to participate in this past week… because I think you’ll probably stop reading at some point, but there are some major highlights i want to share. because they are awesome. And because I want to trap them somewhere before I forget.

Here we go…

1 – literally thousands of kids have journeyed with us this week. almost 200 made eternal decisions.

2 – the worship leaders on each of our campuses KILLED IT!!!! I deeply love it when amazing musicians and singers commit their time to kids. Kids deserve excellence, not mediocrity. And boy did they get it this week!

Hendersonville: Ben Eggebrecht, Colin Henderson, Beau Hoffman and Niko Xidas; Hillcrest: Warren David and Foster Loven; Gallatin: Mike Hurst; Springfield: Brad Damas; Madison: Ben Eggebrecht, Wes Pickering

3 – we got to teach about mephibosheth. YES! David rescued him when he was powerless to help himself because of his love for his family. Jesus rescues us when we are powerless to help ourselves.

4 – teachers brought the truth to kids. the gospel was unashamedly proclaimed and it will defend itself.

5 – our video series was awesome, and jackson, emmy and beau were amazing.

6 – family night… SO MANY PEOPLE. SO MUCH WORSHIP.

7 – we got to teach “God loves you no matter what!” when we taught the thief on the cross story. he did not have time to do any good deeds, after meeting Christ. That means that there was nothing about HIM that saved Him, only Christ. (what a relief, right?!)

I’m totally getting excessive with the capitals and exclamation points.

i’m overflowing, drinking from the saucer. grateful.

jeff lovingood – thanks for supporting lhkidz and giving your guidance, wisdom and influence to this amazing experience we just had.

jason underhill  – thanks for partnering with me to bring the truth to kids… your support and encouragement are crucial in the creative process. i’m grateful for your commitment to excellence.

emmy hendrick – thanks for dreaming and planning, and replanning with me. acting, serving, and doing VBS in Gallatin like a boss. you blow my mind.

sharon fleming – thanks so much for “holding down the fort” while i was looking for an assistant. your kindness is palpable. your love for kids is beautiful. you manage details like a boss!

beau hoffman – thanks for… 1 – acting in the videos, 2 – editing the videos, 3 – making the music videos for EVERY campus, 4 – playing the bass with the band, 5 – teching and/or playing the cajon in the evening at hillcrest, 6 – teaching me about patience

eli spiller – thanks for teaching, hanging posters, making phone calls, dealing with fellowship one, loving kids, serving joyfully… and more

jordan dennis – thanks for loving the madison campus, and praying and preparing to serve with them; thanks for making phone calls, entering stuff in the computer… and more

steven – thanks for rolling with us, loving kids, killing it on kickball, doing everything you were ever presented with

and so much more…. may have to do a second post. i’m about to cry at this point.

i hope you get as stoked as i do about doing something that points to Jesus, with people you adore.

6 thoughts on “i don’t even know how.

  1. Kendra says:

    I love VBS! It is my all time favorite time of year…..keep up the good work, it means something!

  2. Kathy Moore says:

    The impact LHBC has on my kids is amazing!!! I am blown away……we are now at the point where I am searching deeper just to meet the needs of my 7 year old and answer her questions deeply and honestly. My kids loved seeing their friends get to go to VBS and learn truths along with them. I saw last night how important that was to them. They have been saved and want to make sure their friends are too.. Thank you Robyn!! Thank you Long Hollow!!! I love my church!

  3. Dyann Jones says:

    Thank you God for Robyn Collins!!!!!!!

  4. Dyann Jones says:

    Also just sat here listening to my daughter sing the first worship song I’ve heard from her lips of her own accord in months! YOU ARE FAITHFUL! He so is!!!!!

  5. thanks for sharing, friends. we get to be part of so many of God’s miracles.

Leave a Reply

